Official List of candidates

Official List of Declared Candidates

Council District Name Contact Email Contact Phone Number Qualification Status
District 1 Jim Owen 505-892-5423, 505-379-9476 Qualified
District 1 Anthony Felimon Torres 505-463-4309 Qualified
District 2 Jeremy Paul Lenentine 505-604-8128 Qualified
District 4 Ryan C. Parra 505-206-6129 Qualified
District 4 Paul M. Wymer 505-239-6009 Qualified
District 6 Daniel J. Stoddard 575-799-1579 Qualified
District 6 David L. Bency 505-917-0582 Qualified

Each qualified candidate will appear in this order on the official ballot unless a signed and notarized statement of withdrawal is submitted to the City Clerk on or before the seven (7) days after the declaration of candidacy filing date.

Write-In Candidacy 

Individuals desiring to be a write-in candidate may file a declaration of write-in candidacy on Tuesday, January 14, 2020 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Candidacy Challenging

Pursuant to state law, any voter may challenge the candidacy of an individual seeking election to a municipal office by filing a petition in district court within seven (7) days after the declaration of candidacy filing date or within seven (7) days after the declaration of write-in candidacy filing date, respectively.

Run-Off Election

If no candidate for a particular office receives more than 50 percent of the total votes cast, the candidates with the highest and second-highest vote totals for the applicable office will be subject to a runoff election. The runoff election would be held on Tuesday, April 7, 2020.

Also appearing on the March 3, 2020 ballot will be General Obligation Bond questions for roads and public safety